Seasonal Remnant

DSC_2130~2~2
My attention is shifting from story-telling to abstraction. I am interested in the formal qualities and arrangements of different shapes, objects, and space, as well as the physicality of paint, which I feel is like a galaxy for me to explore, with different reactions, relations, and combinations.
At the same time, there are symbols and abstracted images from life and things around me in my paintings. The living environment and seasonal changes have always been important factors and inspiration for my art. The fast-paced, bold, busy even cold feeling of my works comes from the urban neighborhood I am living in right now. And nature still thrives in the corners of this urban landscape. I like to turn mundane objects into secret code and present them as something holy, monumental or significant through paintings. I find this to be a magic of art, and this democratic power keeps drawing me in.
 DSC_2143~2
对于近期系列作品的阐述:
自从艺术学院毕业以后,我的注意力开始从讲故事转移到抽象艺术。我对不同形状、物体、空间的特性和排列有浓厚的兴趣,同时我也喜欢各种颜料的质地和纹路。我觉得这些元素就像银河系一样,待我去探索,它们有不同的组合、关系、反应,永远没有尽头。同时,我的画中也有象征意义的符号,还有我从生活中引申出的形象或标志。通常,居住环境和季节变化对于我来说是很重要的灵感来源。我现居在与华盛顿一河之隔的闹市。我的画中也有繁忙、快速、硬朗甚至冷漠的感觉。然而,通常在都市的夹缝中我都能看到自然的存在,有时候甚至欣欣向荣。我喜欢通过画作把再平凡不过的物体,变得高大,赋予它们神圣、重要的力量。这也是艺术的魔力之一,里面蕴含的平等和反叛的理念也深深地吸引了我。
Leave a Reply

