Briefly New York

When I entered the city, I feel excited for some reason. This city can make everybody excited. I have not seen so many people for quite a while. DC is not quite like this. Although Flushing reminded me of Qinghe town center near my suburban home in Beijing, standing under the big screens in Manhattan, I felt I was at the center of the world.

At Flushing, among many Chinese, I felt lonely. I couldn’t understand people’s southern dialect. They are the strangest countrymen.  Later that day, the busy city began to make me a little tired. Moving slowly on the way back to Manhattan, again, I felt I was at home in the traffic on the busy streets of Beijing. My minds moved in and out between two worlds, fragmented memories, and dreams.

The day concluded fast. Back onto the interstate, this part of America is continuous power plants, container storage place, power poles and lines, ports, every kind of deserted factories. Surprisingly, these are the scenes I would love to paint in my artworks. Man-made but devoid of men, what a landscape!

每次进纽约都很激动。这次的感觉是“哇噻!”,很久没有见过这么多人了。华盛顿在纽约的韵律相比之下,真的像农村了。法拉盛让我想到了清河。但是在曼哈顿的LED广告牌下,人流中,居然又感觉自己在世界变动的中轴。晚些时候,车水马龙有点让我厌倦了,轱呦在回曼哈顿的高速上,顿时梦回北京,也就是外国人多一点杂一点的北京。中国人堆儿里反而感到世界另一头的陌生,主要因为说话听不懂。转眼又回到美国的州际高速上,这一部分的美国,只是发电厂、集装箱、高压电线杆子,各种落魄工厂残骸,都是我画画热爱的主题。人工而成又失去了人的存在,是何等的风景!这是别人看不到的美国,也是在美国的人不会与他人形容的美国。

Leave a Reply

