A Chinese New Year

I just got my appetite back,

a bowl of noodle soup, a plate of “siu mai”

and plenty of rice,

not for the warmth

but the memories we both have.

People talking about a Chinese New Year,

celebrating the money we earned or spent?

Will your coming-home-at-six make me happier?

I don’t know what I am thinking about.

I’m all about gaining weight now,

paranoid yet careless,

unnecessary yet true.

I keep my mouth shut,

when I’m trying to put up with you or myself

Funny that your mom got your old stuff back.

Everything became perfect

for such a snowy day.

It will be the same,

you got your memories back,

and i got my appetite.

Leave a Reply

